Previous Article
“Real Housewives of Atlanta” star NeNe Leakes Parties at Lily Bar & Lounge at Bellagio Las Vegas
Next Article
Shaquille O’Neal Makes Official Debut as DJ Diesel at Chateau Nightclub & Rooftop in Las Vegas

Scott Gafforini Notches Fifth Super Late Model Victory at The Bullring at LVMS

Scott Gafforini Notches Fifth Super Late Model Victory at The Bullring at LVMS
Just in case his competitors weren’t aware that Scott Gafforini is THE force to be reckoned with in the NASCAR Super Late Model division this season at The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway, the four-time track champion formally put them on notice (Photo credit: Jeff Speer/Las Vegas Motor Speedway).

Scott Gafforini Notches Fifth Super Late Model Victory at The Bullring at LVMS
Scott Gafforini Notches Fifth Super Late Model Victory at The Bullring at LVMS

Photo credit: Jeff Speer/Las Vegas Motor Speedway.

Piloting a 17-year-old race car that has posted 56 victories during that span, Gafforini earned his fifth Super Late Model feature win of the season during the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series racing card on Saturday night and then threw down the gauntlet.

“After the (summer) break, we’ve got a brand-new car, so these guys better really look out because that sucker is super fast,” Gafforini said of a new car that he plans to debut in late August. “It’s a state-of-the-art car.”

Gafforini will run his trusty car one last time, Thursday during the annual “Night of Fire” at The Bullring, and then work feverishly during the seven-week break to finish his new car in time for the Aug. 30 Labor Day Weekend Special.

“That’s the only race I have not won ­ other than the Super Late Model open comp out here. That would be a big one,” Gafforini said of The Bullring’s showcase “Night of Fire.”

Gafforini started fifth in Saturday’s 40-lap main event but worked his way to the front on the ninth lap, passing race leader Steve Anderson. Gafforini stayed in front the rest of the way, eventually stretching his lead to more than two seconds after a pair of mid-race caution periods.

David Anderson finished second, Dennis Rock Jr. was third and Andre Prescott and Kayli Barker rounded out the top five.

Ronnie Davis Jr. of Whittier, Calif., won the 35-lap Southwest Tour Truck Series feature in equally convincing fashion. Davis worked his way from his third starting position to the lead on lap 16 and held off Ed Cutler and Alan Rizzone for his first victory over the season. Zack Green, who came into the race with four victories and the series points lead, lost power on the second lap and could not continue.

Michael Greve scored an emotional first win of the season in the 25-lap NASCAR Bomber division. Greve led all but the first three laps and held on for a three-car-length victory over Sam Jacks. Greve dedicated the win to a close friend who passed away recently.

“I want to thank John and Tammy O’Hearn,” Greve said in Victory Lane. “They got me started in this a few years ago when they gave me a car. John passed away about a month ago and I’ve still got his doors on my car and I’ve got his name on the back.”

Christine Breckenridge of Irvine, Calif., who earned her first career USAC victory when the HPD Midget Series visited The Bullring in April, duplicated the feat Saturday night by passing race leader Jeff Kelley coming out of turn 4 on the 26th of 30 laps. Michael Fanelli of Rio Rancho, N.M., was second and Kelley, of Eden, Utah, finished third.

Peyton Saxton and Vinny Raucci Jr. earned their first feature wins of the season in the Legend Car and NASCAR Super Stock main events, respectively.

Dezel West won his fourth consecutive Bandolero Bandits feature and Philip Root scored his third Bandolero Outlaws feature victory of the season.

NEXT RACE: ­ Thursday, July 3 ­ NASCAR Whelen All-American Series “Night of Fire:” 76-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature, NASCAR Super Stocks, NASCAR Bombers, NASCAR Grand American Modifieds, USLCI Legend Cars, USLCI Thunder Cars, IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/ Bandoleros, waterless boat race, “MAVTV Missile” jet-car burn, Lucas Oil “Shocker” Monster Truck and fireworks. Spectator gates will open at 5 p.m. The Bullring’s concession stand features $1 hot dogs, $1 Coca-Cola products and $2 Budweiser beer on each NASCAR Whelen All-American Series race night.

For more information, please call LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit Follow LVMS on Facebook and Twitter.

Saturday night’s NASCAR Whelen All-American Series feature-event results from The Bullring at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

  • 40-lap NASCAR Super Late Model feature: 1. Scott Gafforini, 2. David Anderson, 3. Dennis Rock Jr., 4. Andre Prescott, 5. Kayli Barker, 6. Stan Mullis, 7. Steve Anderson, 8. Cassie Gannis, 9. Justin Johnson.
  • 35-lap Southwest Tour Truck Series feature: 1. Ronnie Davis Jr., 2. Ed Cutler, 3. Alan Rizzone, 4. Eric Darensburg, 5. Shawn Rizzone, 6. Jim West, 7. Cecil Phelps, 8. Zack Green.
  • 4-lap Southwest Tour Truck Series trophy dash: 1. Alan Rizzone, 2. Jim West, 3. Cecil Phelps, 4. Eric Darensburg.
  • 25-lap NASCAR Bomber feature: 1. Michael Greve, 2. Sam Jacks, 3. Martin Sullins, 4. Marty Deluca, 5. Adam Simon, 6, Don Sargent, 7. Jim Merlino, 8. Jason Merlino, 9. Wade Pearson, 10. Anthony Riegert, 11. Jason Sullins, 12. Rich Ham.
  • 30-lap USAC HPD Midget Series feature: 1. Christine Breckenridge, 2. Michael Fanelli, 3. Jeff Kelley, 4. Shawn Buckley, 5. Marina Turner, 6. Annie Breidinger, 7. Dezel West, 8. Joel Rayborne, 9. Toni Breidinger.
  • 25-lap NASCAR Super Stock feature: 1. Vinny Raucci Jr., 2. Phil Goodwin, 3. Jason Kiser, 4. Vinny Raucci, 5. John Spilotro, 6. Robert Negrete Jr.
  • 25-lap Legend Car feature: 1. Peyton Saxton, 2. Michael Todd Glazier, 3. Cameron Morga, 4. Jordan Dean, 5. Shane Skaggs, 6. TJ Clark, 7. Devin Lane, 8. Jeffrey King, 9. Brian Williams, 10. Gina Tillman, 11. Chris Trickle, 12. Bryan Grandin, 13. Scott Bedford, 14. Dave Saxton, 15. Brian Lane.
  • 12-lap IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/ Bandolero Bandits feature: 1. Dezel West, 2. Ethan DeGuevara, 3. Kyle Keller, 4. RJ Smotherman, 5. Gino Marretti, 6. Gianna Marretti, 7. Tye O’Hanley, 8. Mason Sargent.
  • 12-lap IAPMO/Silver Star Plumbing/ Bandolero Outlaws feature: 1. Philip Root, 2. Joey Paonessa, 3. Caden Carlin, 4. Kyle Jacks, 5. Dylin Smotherman, 6. Aiden Green.