Previous Article
Clint Holmes and Family to Perform Songs of the Season in the Suncoast Showroom Dec. 25-27
Next Article
The Improv at Harrah’s and Movie “Funny People” Search for Next Funniest Person

Low, Miyashiro, Emanuel Win on Final Day of Las Vegas Bracket Nationals at LVMS

The 2009 edition of the Las Vegas Bracket Nationals now is history. The final pair of cars – Jim Low and Val Torres – went down the track Sunday afternoon end conclude the five-day Thanksgiving weekend dragfest.

Low defeated Torres in the final round of Super Pro eliminations to claim the remaining $5,000 check. Mark Miyashiro defeated Donald Horn for Pro honors. Rick Emanual of Las Vegas was the only local winner of the weekend, outrunning Arizona’s Jeff Avitabile for Sportsman honors.

Brad Burton of Golden, Colo., won the Biondo No-Electronics Bonus Race. Burton defeated Mark Kidd of Twin Falls, Ida.

Las Vegas Motor Speedway’s final event of the 2009 season – Midnight Mayhem Presented By MetroPCS – takes place at The Strip at LVMS on Friday, Dec. 4.

Final-round results, indicating driver, hometown, car, reaction time, elapsed time (ET) and top speed:

SUPER PRO (1/8-mile)
Winner: Jim Low (Edmonton, Alberta, Canada) 1966 Chevy II .057 6.668 sec./101.01 mph.
Runner-up: Val Torres Jr. (La Puente, Calif.) dragster .064 4.934 sec./133.92 mph.

PRO (1/8-mile)
Winner: Mark Miyashiro (Torrance, Calif.) 1967 Camaro .056 6.493 sec./104.31 mph.
Runner-up: Donald Horn (Castaic, Calif.) 1982 Camaro .032 7.607sec./93.93 mph.

Winner: Rick Emanuel (Las Vegas) Chevrolet Nova .063 7.505 sec./85.33 mph.
Runner-up: Jeff Avitabile (Kingman, Ariz.) 1973 Nova .166 7.708 sec./86.23 mph.