In 2017, recreational cannabis became legal in Nevada State, which decriminalized selling and buying it in the open market and you didn’t need a medical marijuana card anymore. If this is the good news, it stops there as the people of Las Vegas aren’t too clear about other aspects of this law, such as where to enjoy it, etc.
It’s not uncommon for bachelor party groups in Nevada to lose a member or two, and realize later that the missing revellers got arrested. A quick search on PrisonFinder might help you locate them, but the litigation that ensues is harrowing. So, let’s throw some light on this so that the people of Las Vegas can enjoy their puffs in peace and with pleasure.
- Is cannabis legal in Nevada universally?
If you’re a minimum of 21 years, you can buy cannabis in Nevada over the counter for recreational purposes. By producing a valid driver’s license issued by the government, an ID or passport which are still in force, you can purchase cannabis. But remember, your documents must be scannable.
At 21, you can legally have in your possession a maximum of one ounce of cannabis for your personal use. You can use a maximum of 3.5 gm of cannabis concentrates or hash, which does not make you liable for punishment. If you’re 21 or older, it is legal to possess any paraphernalia related to cannabis without fear of penalty.
- Will I still need a medical marijuana card?
It’s good to have a medical marijuana card as you can avail of a slew of benefits on it. For instance, you don’t pay a 10% retail excise tax charged on recreational sales. Next, you can choose from a larger variety and strength.
Marijuana edibles can’t exceed 100 mg of THC per package and 10 mg for each serving for recreational purposes. However, if you’re buying for a medical patient in cases of multiple sclerosis, cancer, PTSD, glaucoma, HIV, cachexia, nausea, pain and seizures, you can buy edibles in packs of 300 mg, 500 mg or 1000 mg.
- How can I use cannabis for medical purposes?
Take your doctor’s advice on why you should use cannabis and how you can benefit from it. It could help vastly with the conditions mentioned above. If you want to be a patient, apply using the Online Cardholder Registry to be a verified Las Vegas medical marijuana patient. If it is proved that you have a chronic or a debilitating problem, you can be given cannabis for therapeutic purposes.
You will also need to fill out an application form. With it, you will need to furnish the following:
- A $25 application request fee
- A copy of the front and back of your driver’s license
- If you’re taking care of a patient, you will have to provide a copy of the front and back of your caretaker’s driver’s license or Nevada ID.
- Can I use cannabis in public?
According to the law, it can only be consumed in the privacy of your home. Las Vegas still does not have consumption lounges where consuming cannabis would be allowed. And, you can’t smoke in your hotel room either, because that’s not your private residence.
- Can I take cannabis home?
If you aren’t a resident of Nevada, you can’t take your cannabis home by transporting it across state lines as this is a federal offense, so don’t think of driving home with it. It’s equally against the law to be flying with your dose of cannabis, nor can you ship it.
However, if you go against the law and risk getting it across by any of these means, and it is discovered in your possession, the law enforcement officers will arrest you and confiscate the package. If it is found to be in your baggage at an airport, the police will be called to weigh your drug content and see if it is the legal amount. If you exceed the limit, you will be arrested and you will be prosecuted under law.
And, depending on where you land, you should be sure that the possession of cannabis is absolutely legal and in accordance with the laws of the destination state.
- Can I drive under the influence of cannabis?
If you do, you attract fines, community service or jail terms because Las Vegas’ laws are extremely serious. To be stoned while driving can give you severe punishment. You could be in jail for two to six months, or asked to do community service.
Alternatively, you could be fined, your license could be suspended or you would be asked to complete a Nevada DUI school. Considering these options, should you really consume cannabis before you drive?
There are also some strict don’ts to follow in Las Vegas if you want to be on the right side of the law:
- Don’t drive under the influence of cannabis or possess cannabis in your car while driving.
- When you check into a hotel room, check out their policy about smoking cannabis in there. If you must get high in your hotel room, remember it’s safer to use edibles like candy.
- Smoking cannabis in public places like in hotel rooms, restaurants and on Las Vegas’ Strip is not just strictly prohibited but punishable by law.
- Under the law, you cannot smoke or use cannabis edibles while driving or sitting in the passenger seat of a privately-owned car, which includes cabs, rental cars, limos and motor homes. This law extends to passengers, not just drivers.
- Can I be charged by the law for breaking cannabis laws in Nevada?
You can certainly be charged under cannabis laws in Nevada for these reasons:
- Falsely claiming to be 21 years or more and trying to buy cannabis, which is a charge of misdemeanor.
- If you are minor and are seen hanging around a cannabis store, you could be fined a maximum of $500.
You may need your dose of cannabis every day, wherever you may be. But doing this in accordance with state laws is extremely important. If you don’t comply with these laws, a range of penalties and jail term are likely to be served on you. So, be careful.