Tips for Staying Out of Jail During Your Next Trip to Vegas

Las Vegas is a world-famous destination city for many people that offers an assortment of activities not found in other places in the United States. For as much thrill and excitement as Las Vegas can offer, there can also be an increased risk of some people possibly being charged with a crime in Las Vegas when they violate state, local, or federal laws.

Tourists often get charged with many different crimes in Las Vegas, with one of the most common being some criminal charges related to illegal drugs. Drug possession cases can often be complicated.

Penalties for drug offenses in Las Vegas vary under applicable drug schedules, like heroin and and lysergic acid diethylamide (LSD). All are Schedule I controlled substances and carry the highest penalties, while methamphetamine, OxyContin, and cocaine are Schedule II controlled substances. Ketamine and anabolic steroids are examples of Schedule III controlled substances. Xanax and Ambien are examples of Schedule IV controlled substances, and various products containing codeine or opium could be considered Schedule V controlled substances. Although tourists can legally purchase marijuana in Las Vegas, the local laws strictly limit the amount and the way it can be consumed.

Another common criminal charge in Las Vegas relates to prostitution or solicitation. Prostitution is only legal in Nevada counties that have populations of less than 700,000, but many tourists mistakenly assume that all prostitution in the state is lawful.

All visitors who know they will be drinking alcohol in Las Vegas should get designated drivers or rely on possible ridesharing services. Driving under the influence (DUI) of drugs or alcohol is also one of the most common criminal charges many tourists face in Nevada. A first DUI in Las Vegas could be punishable by up to six months in jail and a fine of up to $1,000 in addition to other penalties. Keep in mind previous convictions can be counted against you, and fines can increase to $5,000 for third or subsequent offenses.

Some people who are traveling with families or visiting families could also possibly be involved in situations that lead to possible domestic violence charges. One of the most common domestic violence charges in Las Vegas relates to battery, but there are many other potential charges.

A first-time domestic violence offense is punishable by a fine of up to $1,000 and up to 120 hours of community service as well as a requirement to attend weekly counseling sessions. A second offense can result in up to 20 days in jail, and a third offense is a felony punishable by up to six years in prison.

Rarely do people who are coming to Las Vegas have any intention of committing crimes, and people can unknowingly take illegal actions during their visits when individuals believed they were acting lawfully. Any person accused of any criminal offense in Las Vegas will want to be sure that they retain legal counsel as soon as possible for help possibly getting the criminal charges reduced or dismissed.