Previous Article
Huey Lewis and The News to Perform at The M Resort May 29
Next Article
Supernatural Santana Partners with Project Sole to Recycle Shoes for Good Cause

UFL Champion Las Vegas Locos Receive Championship Rings After Historic First Season

The champions of the United Football League ‘Premiere Season’, the Las Vegas Locos, received their championship rings at a special ceremony on Monday night.

The Locos, led by head coach Jim Fassel, were awarded UFL Championship Rings manufactured by Jostens at Blue Martini nightclub in Las Vegas.

UFL Commissioner Michael Huyghue honored the Locos team that posted a 5-2 record and triumphed 20-17 over the Florida Tuskers in the championship game at a ceremony attended by VIPs and guests.

“This was a captivating season that could not have ended any better,” said Commissioner Huyghue. “It is a great night to celebrate the Locos. They played with class and passion all season. They had become a family and truly supported each other.”

Coach Fassel, who was also presented with his and her Rolex watches by the Commissioner, added: “I cannot express my appreciation to Michael Huyghue and the UFL staff. This league will continue grow and I am so excited at that prospect. We will always have the memory of this championship. It is great to see you all here. You guys bonded and deep in my heart I believe because you were so tight, despite ups and downs, you decided you had enough and you were going to win.”

In future seasons, this first UFL championship ring will fold into an overall macro design of rings accumulated from each championship year, while the ultimate design will remain in the shape of a UFL shield. In keeping with the UFL policy of being a fan-orientated league, fans will be able to purchase replica rings along with other pieces made by Jostens.

Among the players receiving championship rings were quarterback J.P. Losman, who completed 102 of 163 passes for 1,193 yards and 9 touchdowns and running back Marcel Shipp, who had 81 carries for 291 yards and 3 touchdowns, ending the season as the league’s fourth-leading rusher. The team’s defensive standouts included linebacker Teddy Lehman, who was the leading tackler in the UFL last season with 43.5 stops.

Several Locos signed with NFL teams following the team’s triumphant season including kicker Graham Gano (Washington Redskins), who kicked the championship game-winning field goal, running back DeDe Dorsey (Detroit Lions), tight end Jake Nordin (Detroit Lions), defensive tackle Shaun Smith (Cincinnati Bengals) and quarterback Losman (Oakland Raiders).

Locos wide receiver Tab Perry concluded: “It is great to be a Loco!”

View the Las Vegas Locos UFL championship ring design here. For more information about the Locos call 702-475-4893. 2010 Locos season tickets are now on sale at the team’s re-launched web page