Previous Article
Wilmer Valderrama, Nicky Hilton at PURE and Heath Herring at Christian Audigier The Nightclub
Next Article
Tito Ortiz’s “Punishment MMA Store” Opens at Hooters

Allen Johnson Wins Las Vegas Pro Stock Showdown at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway

Allen Johnson of Greeneville, Tenn., won today’s fourth annual Las Vegas Pro Stock Showdown at The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway. Johnson met defending event champion and reigning NHRA Full Throttle Drag Racing Series titleholder Jeg Coughlin Jr. in the finale. Johnson, in the left lane, posted a reaction time of .039 and went 6.70 sec./205.04 mph to Coughlin’s .025 and 6.74 sec./204.79 mph.

 To meet Coughlin in the final round of eliminations, Johnson waded past Frank Gugliotta, V Gaines and Greg Stanfield.

First round of eliminations:
Jeg Coughlin Jr. won when opponent Bob Yonke fouled on the starting line.
Tom Hammonds defeated David Beckley.
Rickie Jones defeated Jerry Haas.
Greg Stanfield defeated Roger Brogdon.
V Gaines defeated Bob Panella.
Allen Johnson automatically won when opponent Frank Gugliotta was a no-show on the starting line.
Likewise for Johnny Gray when Ron opponent Krisher failed to appear for the first round.

Second round of eliminations:
Jeg Coughlin Jr. won on a single.
Tom Hammonds defeated Rickie Jones.
Greg Stanfield defeated Johnny Gray.
Allen Johnson won after opponent V Gaines fouled on the starting line.

Semi-final round of eliminations:
Allen Johnson defeated Greg Stanfield.
Jeg Coughlin Jr. beats Tom Hammonds with a hole shot (.007 reaction time).

Winner: Allen Johnson (Greeneville, Tenn) 2006 Stratus .039  6.70 sec./205.04 mph.
Runner-up: Jeg Coughlin Jr. (Delaware, Ohio) 2009 Cobalt  .024  6.74 sec./204.79 mph.
Jeg Coughlin Jr. eclipsed the official track record with a pass of 6.683 sec. during the final round of qualifying on Saturday morning.