Annual NHL Awards Show Set for June 22 at the Pearl Concert Theater

The stars of the National Hockey League will come together with celebrities from music, stage and screen for a celebration of hockey at the star-studded 2011 NHL Awards on Wednesday, June 22, at the Pearl Concert Theater inside the Palms Hotel in Las Vegas. It will be the third straight year the NHL has feted the best hockey players in the world at The Palms Hotel in Las Vegas. The 2011 NHL Awards will be broadcast by VERSUS in the United States and CBC in Canada.

Tickets to the 2011 NHL Awards go on sale to the public today, Thursday, March 31, at Noon PT / 3 p.m. ET, via at and at the Pearl Concert Theater Box Office. Tickets include access to the 2011 NHL Awards show and the official NHL Awards Party, a cocktail reception to be held immediately following the show. Guests must be 21 or older to attend the NHL Awards Party.

Individual honors to be presented at the 2011 NHL Awards include: Art Ross Trophy (top scorer for the regular season), Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy (perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey), Calder Memorial Trophy (outstanding rookie), Frank J. Selke Trophy (outstanding defensive forward), Hart Memorial Trophy (most valuable player to his team), Jack Adams Award (outstanding coach), James Norris Memorial Trophy (outstanding all-around defenseman), King Clancy Memorial Trophy presented by U.S. Army (leadership and humanitarian contribution to his community), Lady Byng Memorial Trophy (sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct), Mark Messier NHL Leadership Award Presented by Bridgestone (superior leader in hockey and a contributing member of society), Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy (top goal-scorer for the regular season), the NHL Foundation Player Award (charitable and community work), Williams M. Jennings Trophy (goaltender(s) on team with fewest goals-against), the NHL Lifetime Achievement Award, and Vezina Trophy (outstanding goaltender).

The Ted Lindsay Award, formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, which is presented annually to the “most outstanding player” in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players’ Association, will also be awarded.

With just eleven days remaining in the NHL regular season, the races for the Maurice “Rocket” Richard and Art Ross Trophies are coming down to the wire. In the race for the Rocket, Corey Perry of the Anaheim Ducks has vaulted into the lead with 46 goals. In his past eleven contests, Perry has scored 15 goals; a span that includes six multiple-goal games, four game-winning goals and two overtime goals. Right behind in second place with 44 goals is Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning, who is looking to repeat as the leading goal scorer in the NHL after sharing that honor in 2010 with Pittsburgh’s Sidney Crosby.

For the Art Ross Trophy, Daniel Sedin of the Vancouver Canucks leads the pack with 98 points, seven ahead of Tampa Bay’s Martin St. Louis with 91. Sedin is trying to keep the trophy in the family as his brother, Henrik, who currently sits tied for second place with 91 points, won the award in 2010. Perry, with 89 points, and Stamkos with 88 round out the top five competitors.

Nominees for each Award will be announced in the coming weeks, along with a full line up of celebrity guests, presenters and entertainment. For more information, visit

Official 2011 NHL Awards travel packages, including reserved tickets, accommodations at The Palms Hotel, souvenir gifts and more, are available via Global Event Forum, the Official NHL Events Fan Package Partner, at

For a chance to join the party in Las Vegas, fans can also visit to enter to win a trip for two to the 2011 NHL Awards, including round trip airfare for two, two night’s hotel accommodations in Las Vegas and two tickets to the 2011 NHL Awards and official NHL Awards Party. Fans must be 21 or older to enter the contest. Visit for complete contest rules.

Leave a Reply