Formula DRIFT Returns to The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway Aug. 24-25

Formula DRIFT Returns to The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway Aug. 24-25
The Formula DRIFT Serie
s ( and the world’s best drivers will return to The Strip at Las Vegas Motor Speedway Aug. 24-25 for the sixth (and next-to-last) round of the 2012 season. 

Vaughn Gittin Jr. is leading the charge to Las Vegas and is hoping to continue his drifting streak. Gittin, the series’ 2010 champion, won the most recent Formula DRIFT events in Belmar, N.J. and Monroe, Wash. and is at the top of the point standings. Gittin, 31, is a native of Maryland and drives a Ford Mustang sponsored by Monster Energy and Falken Tires.

Now in its ninth season, Formula DRIFT is recognized as the North American professional drifting championship. Formula DRIFT provides a forum for professional drifters to compete in seven events nationwide for the coveted Formula DRIFT championship crown.

Qualifying is set for Friday, Aug. 24 with eliminations on Saturday, Aug. 25. General admission tickets are good for both days. The event also will include a car show, manufacturers’ midway and DJs. Fans may save money by purchasing tickets in advance at the LVMS ticket office, online at or by calling (702) 644-4444. Parking is free.

New for 2012 is the Thrill Zone VIP reserved-seat grandstand. Thrill Zone amenities include reserved seating, a cash bar, concession stand and private rest rooms.

Former Las Vegas resident Aurimas “Odi” Bakchis was the No. 1 Qualifier at the recent Formula DRIFT event in N.J. The native of Lithuania drives a Nissan S14 and is sponsored by 702 Graphics of Las Vegas. Last year, Rhys Millen of Auckland, New Zealand defeated Ireland’s Darren McNamara in the final round of eliminations to claim the Formula DRIFT Round 6: After Dark title at The Strip at LVMS. Other past Las Vegas Formula DRIFT winners include: TylerMcQuarrie (2010) and Tanner Foust (2009). The series has attracted drivers from the U.S., Japan, Norway, Ireland, South Africa, Hong Kong, Lithuania and Canada.

Formula DRIFT 2012 point standings (top 10, after five events):

  1. Vaughn Gittin Jr. 391
  2. Daigo Saito 383.50
  3. Justin Pawlak 376
  4. Daijiro Yoshihara 347
  5. Ryan Tuerck 328.50
  6. Rhys Millen 318.25
  7. Fredric Aasbo 295.50
  8. Chris Forsberg 293
  9. Matt Powers 275.50
  10. Aurimas “Odi” Bakchis 267.75

Spectator admission (tickets are good for both Aug. 24 and 25):

Thrill Zone VIP: $50.
Advance-sale adult general admission: $30.
Day-of-show adult general admission: $35.
Advance-sale children’s (ages 6-14) general admission: $10.
Day-of-show children’s (ages 6-14) general admission: $15.
Kids 5 and under: Free.
Parking: free.

5 p.m. – Spectator gates open.
4-6 p.m. – Pro/Am qualifying.
6-7 p.m. – Driver autograph session.
7-9 p.m. – Practice.
9-11:30 p.m. – Qualifying.
Midnight-1 a.m. – Practice.

5 p.m. – Spectator gates open.
5-6:30 p.m. – Pro/Am Top 16 competition.
6:30-8:30 p.m. – Main competition “Round of 32.”
10 p.m. – National anthem, opening ceremonies.
10:30 p.m. – Main competition “Round of 16 to Finals.”
12:30 a.m. – Trophy ceremony and closing.

For more information or to purchase tickets in advance, please call LVMS at (702) 644-4444 or visit Follow LVMS on Facebook and Twitter.