Floyd Mayweather Named Nevada Boxing Hall Of Fame Fighter Of The Year

Floyd Mayweather Named Nevada Boxing Hall Of Fame Fighter Of The Year
Floyd Mayweather Jr.
will be honored as Nevada Fighter of the Year by the Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame at its annual Induction Ceremony/Dinner this Saturday night, August 9 (Photo credit: / RETNA / Scott Harrison)

It is the second straight year Mayweather takes the honor, following his victories over Canelo Alvarez in September, 2013, and hard-fought decision over Marcos Maidana in May, 2014.

Mayweather will receive the honor on the same night 18 Inductees are brought into the NVBHOF, and several other Special Achievement Award winners are honored. The gala event will take place in the Cohiba Ballroom inside the New Tropicana, Las Vegas. Social hour and Silent Auction begin the evenings festivities at 6PM with dinner and the program at 7PM

The still undefeated Mayweather will serve dual roles at the boxing extravaganza. In addition to receiving his own award, Floyd will serve as the presenter for Inductee Cornelius Boza-Edwards, who goes into the NVBHOF in the “Nevada Resident Boxer” category. Boza-Edwards now serves as trainer and operator at the Mayweather Gym in Las Vegas.

The Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame will also present several other Awards at the Induction Gala. They Include:


  • Joe Bliss: The 81 year Reno resident was the first-ever University of Nevada National Boxing Champ, winning the college title for the Wolfpack in 1959. A college teammate of Mills Lane, he has remained an inspiration and role model for young boxers in Northern Nevada


  • Bermane Stiverne: For becoming the first-ever Haitian to win World Heavyweight Title. Based his training in Las Vegas, and won a rousing slugfest with Chris Arreola in May to take the vacant WBC Crown at the age of 35.
  • Shawn Porter: For his amazing development with three signficant victories within the past year, including a signature 4th round stoppage of Paulie Malignaggi to retain his IBF belt. Shawn resides in Las Vegas during his training periods, which is most of the year.
  • Ana Julaton: For being the only athlete, male or female, to be competing at elite levels in both boxing and MMA. Ana, a two-time World Champion in boxing, made her MMA debut at a big ONE-FC card in Phillipines in December, with a 3-round victory. She trains in Las Vegas
  • Vinh Thai: For winning national Collegiate Boxing Championship in the 112 pound class for UNLV
  • Garrett Felling: For winning National Collegiate Boxing Championship at 185 pounds for the University of Nevada, in Reno.
  • Mary Ann Owen: For her dedication to boxing through her work as one of the top boxing photo-journalists in America. A Las Vegas resident, she has also contributed in roles as an author, women’s boxing promoter, and unrelenting provider of the positive aspects of boxing.
  • Dr. Charles Bernick: For his important work as principal investigator in the Brain Health Study on fighters at Cleveland Clinic Lou Ruvo Center in Las Vegas. Dr. Bernick’s study has enlisted hundreds of boxers for research on brain trauma, putting them through annual medical and cognitive tests in the research.

The Nevada Boxing Hall of Fame is an IRS 501-c-3 non-profit, charitable organization. Tickets and purchases are tax deductible.
Remaining tickets at $300 and $175 for the August 9 Induction are available online at : www.nvbhof.com.

Comments are closed.